How do you cook open drinking water?

Bring it to a rolling boil, the hottest boil that you can make, for at least 2 minutes. The idea is to kill the microorganisms in the water. You can not remove the heavy metals and minerals by boiling, but if that too is a problem, collect and re-condense the steam.