Why are apples red green and yellow?

Green apples appear green because of chlorophyll in the peel. In red apples, the colour of chlorophyll is masked by the presence of anthocyanins, which are red in colour. Interestingly, anthocyanins accumulate in vacuoles, while the chlorophylls are present in chloroplasts of apple peel cells.