Is an aardvark and anteater the same thing?

Aardvarks and anteaters are similar, but not the same animal. An Aardvark is a nocturnal, long-snouted, burrowing South African mammal, with long ears. Anteaters are diurnal, long-snouted, South American animals with short, round ears & a long furry tail.