What happened to the thresher?

The USS Thresher sank in April 1963 killing all 129 occupants. The Navy said improperly welded pipe ruptured, causing a seawater leak that shorted out the ship’s electrical system. Crews were unable to reach equipment to stop the flooding in time, and the ballast tanks failed to work properly.