How did tic tac toe get it's name?

The name tic tac toe comes from a game by the same name, no longer played, in which players with their eyes closed tossed a pencil down onto a slate marked with numbers, and earned the score the number indicated--something like blind darts. The name is from the tic-tac sound of the pencil as it hits