What's the seventeen years akeda?

The seventeen year cicada is an winged insect similar to a large fly which is native to North America. It spends the majority of its life underground in a immature development state called a 'nymph'. Every 17 years, these nymphs burrow to the surface, pupate into adult cicadas, mate, and die.