How do you tell the difference between a boy and a girl turtle?

One way to determine gender in a turtle is to look at the length of its tail. Female turtles have short and skinny tails while males sport long, thick tails, with their vent positioned closer to the end of the tail. And male turtles often have a small V notch at the rear end of the carapace.