What's the difference between light rum and dark rum?

Because dark rums are produced in charred oak barrels, they are usually heavy in flavor, and some describe them as having a much sweeter taste as compared to other, lighter rums. White rums, in contrast, are usually described as generally sweet with a much lighter feel.