Why is it called boston cream?

Owners of the Parker House Hotel in Boston say that the Boston cream pie was first created at the hotel by French chef Augustine Francois Anezin, who led the hotel's culinary staff from 1865 to 1881 in Boston. Naming the pie after its namesake, Boston.