What happens when you get stung by a bee?

Bees have barbed stingers. When you get stung by a bee, this stinger is driven through your skin. A bee's venom contains proteins that affect the immune system and your skin cells, causing swelling around the area. The bee's venom sack is also pulled out of its body when it stings, killing it.