How can you tell when a cat is happy?

Cats have a unique way of showing how happy they are such as when they curl up on your lap, purring and falling asleep. Cats like to knead when they are happy. Having ears facing forward and relaxed whiskers are also signs of a content cat. Playful behavior is also sign of a happy cat.