Why did alexander hamilton and aaron burr have a jewel?

Hamilton did not consider Burr to be worthy of holding office, calling him corrupt and in the pay of companies dealing with the US government. Several times, Hamilton successfully blocked Burr from being elected to various offices. Eventually, Burr had enough and challenged Hamilton to a duel.