How does a house get built?

Pour foundation Construct rough framing Complete rough pluming, electrical and HVAC Complete drywall and interior textures; start exterior finishes Install hard-surface flooring and countertops, and complete exterior grading Finish mechanical trims; install bathroom fixtures