Where does bugs come from?

It is from an old Welsh word, bwg (pronounced boog), which means evil spirit or hobgoblin and may also be the origin of boogeyman, the imaginary creature that haunts little children. The first bug was probably the bedbug, since it terrorized folks at night by feeding on them.