What happens to a freshwater fish in salt water?

Freshwater fish regulate the amount of water going in and out of their bodies through several mechanisms like drinking less water and producing dilute urine. If freshwater fish are put in saltwater, they lose water from their bodies due to the hypertonic environment. Their cells shrivel and die.