Can chickens eat nuts?

Chickens can eat leftover or stale cooked nuts as long as they are not moldy. If the nuts are salted, be sure to rinse them before providing them . Raw nuts with hard shells such as pecans, acorns, and hickory nuts should be crushed a little before feeding.