Why did selena get assassinated?

Selena was shot and killed by Yolanda Saldivar. Saldivar was an employee and manager for Selena's boutiques and fan club and was found to have been embezzling money. When Selena confronted Saldívar about missing financial records, Saldívar pulled out a gun and shot the singer.