Is mozzarella a gruyere cheese?

You can use mozzarella instead of gruyere since they both melt well and have a creamy, buttery, salty taste. However, Gruyere has a more intense nutty flavor when aged, while mozzarella is milky and salty, so it is best not to substitute mozzarella for Gruyere if it is the main ingredient.