Are daddy longlegs real?

According to UC Riverside Spider Research, the creatures most correctly called daddy-longlegs, are not spiders, they are in their own separate Order, Opiliones. They have one basic body segment, 8 legs, and at most 2 eyes. In contrast, spiders have 2 body segments, and are in the order, Araneae.