What's the definition of an ivy league college?

The Ivy League comprises of 8 private research institutions in the Northeast U.S.A.. Originally a collegiate athletic league, it is now synonymous with prestige and extremely selective. The members are Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.