When does chicken go bad?

Chicken may be refrigerated for 1 to 2 days - even if the "sell-by" date on the package expires during that time. Fresh Chicken whole can be stored 1 year In freezer; chicken pieces can be stored 9 months in freezer. Cooked chicken can be refrigerated for 3 to 4 days or frozen 2 to 6 months.