What did the crocodile swallow in peter pan?

First the hand of Captain Hook (who lost it in battle with Peter Pan), and then clock, as Captain Hook explains huskily: "That crocodile would have had me before this, but by a lucky chance it swallowed a clock which goes tick tick inside it, and so before it can reach me I hear the tick and bolt.”.

---

A pocketwatch