What's the manhattan project?

The Manhattan Project was a covert U.S. government program to develop atomic weapons in World War II. More than thirty sites in the U.S. and Canada were involved with the most important in Los Alamos, New Mexico. There Robert Oppenheimer led a group of scientists who designed the actual weapons.