Where did van gogh loses year?

23rd of December 1888

---

Vincent van Gogh cut off his left ear when tempers flared with Paul Gauguin, the artist with whom he had been working for in Arles. Van Gogh began to hallucinate and suffered attacks in which he lost consciousness, this event being one of them.