What's the difference between a legume and a lentil?

A lentil is a type of edible legume. A legume is a family of plants that are grown agriculturally and known for fixing nitrogen in the soil. Examples of legumes include beans, soybeans, peas, chickpeas, peanuts, lentils, alfalfa, and clover.