Who is sloopy?

Sloopy is the name of a girl in the song "Hang On, Sloopy" recorded by the McCoys in the mid-1960s. Sloopy is also the name of a cat in the poem "A Cat Named Sloopy" written by Rod McKuen in the late 1960s.