What is the definition of pretend?

The word pretend, spelled p-r-e-t-e-n-d, has multiple meanings. As a verb, it means to give a false appearance or to feign, as in "he pretends to be a lawyer, but never passed the bar." As an adjective, it means imaginary or a non-functional imitation, as in "he has a pretend girlfriend"