How did babe ruth get his name babe?

At the age of 19, the law at the time stated that Ruth had to have a legal guardian sign his baseball contract. As a result, Jack Dunn owner of the Baltimore Orioles, became Ruth's legal guardian, teammates jokingly called Ruth "Dunn's new babe." Ruth quickly earned the nickname "Babe" Ruth.