Who created the high five?

According to ESPN, on September 1st, 1980, Derek Ervin Smith, American professional basketball player from 82' to 91', invented the high five. There is some controversy surrounding this, as other sources label Glenn Lawrence Burke, a Major League Baseball player from '76 and '79, as the inventor.