What's the difference between butter and sweet cream butter?

Sweet cream butter, the most basic butter in North America, is made of pasteurized fresh cream. It tends to have lower fat content than European butter, which is made of soured cream. Both can be made with or without salt, have similar taste, and are usually interchangeable.