How much oceans are there?

How much oceans are there? There is only one global ocean. Historically, there are 4 named oceans: the Atlantic, Pacific, Indian, and Arctic. Most countries - including the US - now recognize the Southern (Antarctic) as the 5th ocean. The Pacific, Atlantic, and Indian are the most commonly known.

---

There is only one global ocean which covers 71% of the entire surface of the world. The Atlantic, Pacific, Arctic, Indian, and Southern ocean basins—previously known as the Antarctic—are among the five segmented ocean basins. 97% of the water on the globe is contained in these five oceans.