What is a coup de tat?

It's spelled C-O-U-P D-'-E-T-A-T. It's a French term. A coup d'état, also known simply as a coup, is the overthrow of an existing government by non-democratic means; typically, it is an illegal, unconstitutional seizure of power by a dictator, the military, or a political faction.