Tell me about the great potato famine?

Great Famine, also called Irish Potato Famine, Great Irish Famine, that occurred in Ireland in 1845–49 when the potato crop failed in successive years. The crop failures were caused by late blight, a disease that destroys both the leaves and the edible roots, or tubers, of the potato plant.

---

The Great Famine, also known as the Great Hunger, the Famine, or the Irish Potato Famine, was a period of mass starvation and disease in Ireland from 1845 to 1852.