Why is it called latin america?

Latin America is called "Latin America" because the countries that comprise Latin America speak Spanish and Portuguese, which are descended from Latin.

---

The residents in these countries speak mostly Spanish and Portuguese. These two languages are derived from Latin. Hence, the name Latin America.