What was the southern army called in the civil war?

The Confederate Army (also known as the Southern Army) was the military land force of the Confederate States of America. Nicknames for the Confederates include "Rebels," "Rebs," or "Johnny Reb".

---

The North called the Southern army the Rebels or “Rebs”. The South called the Northern army the Yankees.