What is the proper way to dispose of a u. s. flag?

Start by folding the flag in a customary triangle manner. Prepare a fire large enough to burn the flag completely. Place the flag in the fire. While it burns, witnesses should recite the Pledge of Allegiance or salute. End the ceremony with a moment of silence before burying the flag's ashes.