Was abraham lincoln in the civil war?

Lincoln presided over the Union victory in the American Civil War, which dominated his presidency. A former Whig, Lincoln ran on a political platform opposed to the expansion of slavery in the territories. His election served as the immediate impetus for the outbreak of the American Civil War.