What can you substitute for bitters?

Mix pinches of cinnamon, cloves, mace and nutmeg with finely diced orange or lemon peel and prunes in 2 tablespoons of vodka or rum. Taste and adjust the ingredients until you have achieved a suitable-tasting alternative to Angostura.