What is the law of traction?

An active Traction Law requires motorists to have either snow tires, tires with the mud/snow (M+S) designation, or a four-wheel/all-wheel-drive vehicle. All tires must now have a minimum of three-sixteenths inch tread. The former requirement was for traction to be an eighth of an inch.