What is a substitute for tamarac?

If a recipe uses turmeric for its yellow color rather than flavor, saffron or annatto may be good alternatives. If a recipe for a curry calls for turmeric, curry powder may work as substitute. If you're looking to replicate the health benefits of turmeric in a dish, ginger may work well.