Who proceeded ronald reagan?

James Earl Carter Jr., also known as Jimmy Carter, is a Democratic American politician and philanthropist, who served as the 39th president of the United States from 1977 to 1981, and preceded Ronald Reagan who began his presidential term in 1981.