How long does it take to defrost an ice cream cake?

Prior to serving, thaw the cake 30 minutes in the refrigerator or 15 minutes on the counter. This will ensure the cake is at just the right temperature and consistency. Cut with a long, serrated knife for clean slices. Warm the knife in some hot water, dry off excess water, and dig in!