Does a watched pot ever boil?

A watched pot will boil, if given enough heat. An old wives tale says that a watched pot will not boil over, which should be interpreted that the person watching the pot will be able to stop the pot from boiling over by reducing the heat.

---

Yes, of course. It may however seem to take longer if you are focused on it rather than doing other things while you wait.