Why was ketchup invented?

Finally, in 1812, the first recipe for tomato-based ketchup debuted. James Mease, a Philadelphia scientist, is credited with developing the recipe. He wrote that the choicest ketchup came fromlove apples,as tomatoes were then called. Some believed tomatoes had aphrodisiac powers.