Why did pluto get destroyed?

Pluto was not destroyed, but rather reclassified as a dwarf planet. It lost its major planet status as it didn't fit all 3 of the criteria for to be included as a major planet. It missed the criteria of 'clearing its neighborhood' around its orbit, and was downgraded in August 2006.