When is it appropriate to start decorating for halloween?

October 1st is when many people find it nice to begin decorating for Halloween. This allows a full month of decorations without stepping on September’s toes. Some prefer to decorate as soon as possible, though inflatables, recordings, and distracting decorations are best left for closer to the 31st.