What was the second state made?

The thirteen original colonies all became states at the same time, with the Declaration of Independence, on July 4, 1776. In order of the colonial founding dates of these first states, Virginia was the first, in 1607, and Massachusetts was second, with the founding of Plymouth Colony in 1620.