What's the definition of mind your p.'s and q.'s?

P and Q in the phrase “Mind your P’s and Q’s” stand for the letters themselves. In the past, it has referred to paying attention to the orientation of the vertical line when writing and typesetting the lower case of P and Q, which like B and D, vary only by the vertical line placement.