What is a flame snake?

The forest flame snake, also known as the false coral snake, is known scientifically as the Oxyrhopus petolarius. It is a species that lives in South America at altitudes from sea level to about 6,600 feet. Though its venom is very toxic to lizards, it is not considered dangerous to humans.