Why do coldsores come out?

Cold sores are caused by the herpes simplex virus. Once the herpes simplex virus is in you, it can cause outbreaks of cold sores. Cold sore outbreaks are often triggered by exposure to hot sun, cold wind, a cold or other illness, a weak immune system, or even stress.